Home' Visitors Guide : Autumn 2011 Contents Autumn 2011 ❙ 29
Anzac Day at the
ANZAC DAY will be commemorated in the Southern
Highlands with two services and some special events at the
Mittagong RSL on Monday 25th April.
A Dawn Service will take place at the Cenotaph on the
Hume Highway in Mittagong at 5.15am.
Numbers for this emotive event have grown over the years
with young and old alike flocking to the site to pay respect to
those who have served for the armed forces in Australia and
Following the service, a breakfast will be held at the
Mittagong RSL. Tickets are $10 each with $5 being donated
to the Berrima District Legacy from the proceeds of the ticket
At 10.30am a march will begin from Ferguson Crescent in
Mittagong, adjacent to the Visitors Centre, to the Cenotaph
in Mittagong for the Morning Service.
Following the service, a luncheon will be held at the
Mittagong RSL for sub-branch members and their partners, as
well as the Women's Auxiliary.
The traditional Two-Up tussle will be played out in
the Carrington Room of the Mittagong RSL from
2pm to 6pm.
The Highlands Pipes and Drums will perform
on two occasions at the Mittagong RSL on Anzac
Tickets for the breakfast and luncheon must be pre-
purchased from the reception desk at the Mittagong RSL.
Visitors and locals can attend both services and the
breakfast or two-up games at the Mittagong RSL. ■
THE NAME 'Bong Bong' lives on today in our area as the
main street of Bowral, a bridge, a racecourse and an historic
Bong Bong Common preserves the site of the first surveyed
township in the Southern Highlands. An obelisk made from
polished trachyte, the unique local stone, was erected there
in 1947 to mark the site's significance.
The trachyte was taken from the Mt Gibraltar quarries
of Loveridge and Hudson (Bowral). Bricks used in the
foundation have an interesting link with early settlement
days as each bear the stamp of Hickman and Co,
Stroudbridge (England). These were obtained from The Briars
nearby which was undergoing
remodelling at the time.
The obelisk is engraved
with gold lettering and with a
stylised map of the original site.
Generously donated by Mr H.
Talbot Sanderson of Wongabri,
Bong Bong, the obelisk stands
on a small parcel of land made
available by him, on the left side
of Moss Vale Road about 200
metres north of the Bong Bong
The Governor of NSW, General
Sir John Northcott, unveiled
the commemorative obelisk
on January 18, 1947, in the
presence of local and visiting
lovers of history.
Those who do explore this
historic local area will find that
just behind the Bong Bong obelisk is a 200 metre track that
leads into the Cecil Hoskins Nature Reserve.
This is a significant wet-land managed by the National
Parks and Wildlife Service. There are several kilometres
of easy walks and an information display lists the history,
wildlife and scientific data of the reserve. Picnic tables,
barbecues and toilets are available.
Within easy walking distance also is the historic Christ
Church and graveyard, built in 1845 on land given by the
Throsby family. Bong Bong is really worth a visit, especially
on a fine spring day.
This article is sourced from the archives of Berrima District
Historical & Family History Society, corner of Old Hume
Highway & Bowral Road, Mittagong. ■
Links Archive Summer 2010 Winter 2011 Navigation Previous Page Next Page